29th Annual Heartland International Film Festival Announces Award Winners


INDIANAPOLIS – Heartland Film, Inc. has selected film winners for the 29th Heartland International Film Festival. The 29th Annual Heartland International Film Festival featured 76 films, 23 premieres, live virtual filmmaker Q&As, and special events.

The year’s theme was The Full Spectrum of Film to celebrate the diverse film genres, stories, and perspectives showcased throughout the festival.

The full list of 29th HIFF award winners include:

Grand Prize for Narrative Feature ($20,000 Grand Prize)
“There Is No Evil,” directed by Mohammad Rasoulof (Iran), Kino Lorber

Narrative Jury Statement: Rasoulof has crafted a visual intricacy full of intimacy, awe, and hyper-realism to present quotidian perspectives on the entanglement of four strangers in Iran; We are ever so fortunate to be challenged and stimulated by this morally complex gem.

Grand Prize for Documentary Feature ($20,000 Grand Prize)
“76 Days,” directed by Hao Wu, Weixi Chen, Anonymous (China, USA), MTV Documentary Films

Abbreviated Documentary Jury Statement: With incredible access, and ripped-from-the-headlines rawness, the filmmakers take enormous risks, including their own exposure. Capturing the degree of extreme distress while creating immensely intimate portraits, the film interrogates humanity as played out in life and death, making the story of this global pandemic all the more visceral, immediate, and heroic. This film deserves the award because it is interesting and at the same time, has great messaging – messages of kindness, care, and following the dictates of science.

Richard D. Propes Social Impact Award, Narrative Feature ($2,000 cash prize)
“Best Summer Ever,” directed by Michael Parks Randa, Lauren Smitelli (USA)

Richard D. Propes Social Impact Award, Documentary Feature ($2,000 cash prize)
“76 Days,” directed by Hao Wu, Weixi Chen, Anonymous (China, USA), MTV Documentary Films

Indiana Spotlight Award ($2,000 cash prize)
“Generation Growth,” directed by Mu Sun (USA)

Heartland Horror ($2,000 cash prize)
“La Dosis,” directed by Martin Kraut (Argentina)

Jimmy Stewart Legacy Award ($5,000 cash prize)
“Minari,” directed by Lee Isaac Chung (USA), A24

Humor & Humanity Award ($2,000 cash prize)
“Eat Wheaties!” directed by Scott Abramovitch (Canada)

Best Premiere Award, Narrative ($2,000 cash prize)
“Sisters Apart,” directed by Daphne Charizani (Germany, Greece)

Best Premiere Award, Documentary ($2,000 cash prize)
“Dear Santa,” directed by Dana Nachman (USA), IFC Films

Spirit of Change Award
“The Killing of Kenneth Chamberlain,” directed by David Midell

FIPRESCI Best US Narrative Directorial Debut
“The Last Shift,” directed by Andrew Cohn (USA), Sony Pictures


“Song Without a Name,” Directed by Melina León (Peru, Spain, USA), Film Movement

“Congratulations to all the winning filmmakers at the 29th Heartland International Film Festival. We all have been isolated, but your films have brought untold stories and new perspectives from all of the world right into our homes. We may not have been all together this year, but together we had a shared experience around the transformative power of film,” said Heartland Film President Craig Prater.

For the full Press Release, check here:

Press Release



Leave A Reply