Truly Moving Picture Award

Heartland Film honors select studio-released films–entertaining movies that do more than just entertain–with the Truly Moving Picture Award.

The Award allows studios and distributors to inform potential audiences of a film’s transformative power, and serves as a curatorial standard to enable moviegoers to identify entertaining films that do much more than just entertain.

Submissions are received directly from studios and producers for consideration. Films submitted to Heartland Film for Truly Moving Picture Award consideration are judged on their overall artistic and technical quality. Each film is screened by Truly Moving Picture Award jury members and Heartland Film staff. Although some Truly Moving Picture Award-winning films may be shown at the annual Heartland Film Festival, the Award is not tied to the event; Heartland Film bestows the Award on a rolling basis throughout the year.

2017 Truly Moving Picture Award winners

2017 TMPA winners include:


















































2016 Truly Moving Picture Award winners

2016 TMPA winners include:








The Finest Hours

Hidden Figures































2015 Truly Moving Picture Award winners

2015 TMPA winners include:

The 33

Batkid Begins

Bridge of Spies









The Dark Horse

In the Heart of the Sea








McFarland, USA

Me and Earl and the Dying Girl

My All American









Seymour: An Introduction








2014 Truly Moving Picture Award winners

2014 TMPA winners include:

Alexander and the Terrible, Horrible, No Good, Very Bad Day












The Hobbit: The Battle of the Five Armies

The Good Lie








The Imitation Game


The Judge






Million Dollar Arm








The Monuments Men

Mr. Peadbody & Sherman

Disney's Muppets Most Wanted








St. Vincent

The Theory of Everything width=









The Wind Rises








2013 Truly Moving Picture Award winners

2013 TMPA winners include:





























2012 Truly Moving Picture Award winners

2012 TMPA winners include:






























The Magic of Belle Isle

Moonrise Kingdom






















2011 Truly Moving Picture Award winners

2011 TMPA winners include:











































2010 Truly Moving Picture Award winners

2010 TMPA winners include:















Hachi: A Dog's Tale






















A Ripple of Hope








 A Shine of Rainbows 



































Full listing/database of past Truly Moving Picture Award winners coming soon.